X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• HTML Control of the results page

Hi guys,
    Noob here.

Is there anyway of changing the HTML of the search results page? If you notice the numbered list which is being displayed is nothing more than a series of self closing divs and it introduces tags which aren't needed or even valid in some cases.

Ideally this should be marked up as an ordered list with

Code:
    <a href="#endsearch" class="skip">Skip Results</a>
      <ol id="resultslist"></ol>
    <hr id="endsearch" />
    and an li for each result

Code:
    <li><a href="#" class="title">Result Title:</a><p>Description</p><a href="" class="url">www...</a></li>
    around each search result.

CSS can then be used as follows to style the results:
    Code:
    #resultslist {
     list-style : roman;
    }
    #resultslist li {
     line-height : 1.4em;
    }

#resultslist li a:hover {
     text-decoration : underline;
    }

#resultslist li p {
     color : #666;
    }
    Incorrect markup makes the web a horrid place, correct use of markup is next to godliness. To be honest the lack of control over HTML is crippling my ability to use this product and justify purchasing it. Any ideas?
    Last edited by Lee Jordan; Jan-15-2008, 11:58 AM.

Are you looking at an old V4 copy of the software? Since you are posting in the V4 forum, I presume this may be the case.

The HTML output was revamped in V5 and everything is specified in <div> tags which allow for much greater control via CSS. There are no longer any unnecessary tags, and definitely no invalid tags used. We went out of our way to utilize correct markup and it validates as XHTML 1.0.