PassMark Logo
Home » Forum

"Reload all files (do not use cache)" - when should this be unchecked?

Collapse
X
 
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts
  • aezzell
    Member
    • Jan 2011
    • 24

    #1

    "Reload all files (do not use cache)" - when should this be unchecked?

    We're in the middle of a rebranding mess at work, so I apologize if I'm missing something really obvious.

    Could you please explain - preferably using really short, simple words - when you should / should not check the "Reload all files (do not use cache)" option?

    Exactly what cache are we talking about here?

    Thanks.
  • David
    Administrator
    • Dec 2004
    • 4714

    #2
    In V6, Zoom shares a cache with IE. Web pages are cached on the local hard drive.
    Using a cache can making indexing slightly faster for files on the site that haven't changed.
    But something you find it indexing old versions of the pages, especially when making lots of rapid updates to the site. In this case turn off the cache.

    Comment

    • aezzell
      Member
      • Jan 2011
      • 24

      #3
      Thanks.

      And thanks again, because the forum wouldn't let me say just "Thanks."

      Comment

      Working...