Search goes to the ASP page of text and coding not results p

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Search goes to the ASP page of text and coding not results p

Up front first of all I'm not a programmer. I was looking for a search page to do on my website. The download of the Zoom Search Engine went well. Installation went with out a hitch. Ran the wizard, it created 10 index pages. I then up-loaded the files using WS FTP. I then went into the coding and change from "Search.php" it to "Search.asp". When I execute the search it goes to the ASP page of text and coding. I do not understand how to get it to go to a result page. What am I missing? FAQ's are great but I cannot seem to find the answer.

Coding Challenged
    Regards,

Bill

If you upload the files with 3rd party FTP software make sure you upload in BINARY mode and not ASCII mode. A lot of people make this mistake.

Am I correct in understanding that you renamed the search.php file to be called search.asp??? Why on earth would you do that? That will never work. Unless you have a good understanding of what PHP and ASP are, you shouldn't be renaming (or editing) these files in any way.

No coding is required do use the software.

You need to check with your hosting company / server, what scripting languages are supported. (e.g. PHP or ASP) and then select the matching option in Zoom.

----
    David

Comment

Results going to ASP text and coding page

Coding behind the search_template.html page.

I changed the reference file in the coding from search.php to search.asp. I did not rename the file. My hosting works with .asp files downloaded the ASP from the WrenSoft site.

"This is the search template file (search_template.html) which contains the layout
      to your search page.

Note that you can not access the search function from this page (by default). Instead,
      you should open or link to the search script, which is a file named "search.php",
      "search.asp", or "search.cgi"."